Start a new topic

Canvas Draw 5 & DWG files

I've been using Canvas for many years, and recently have the need to export CVX and/or CVD files as DWG files. The files are being sent to either an architect or a mechanical engineer, either one using AutoCad, at the minimum the 2010 version. 

I'm getting feedback from them that when they open my file, all the lines, shapes, text, etc have shifted around the page. I've also tried exporting as a DFX file, which AutoCad can import, with similar results. 

I've kept my files free of any images (jpeg, png, tif's etc) and stayed with generic fonts - Arial and Arial Narrow. Has anyone been able to master with with Canvas 5 (or any Canvas version since 2) that can successfully be imported as a DWG file? If I'm doing something wrong, I'd like to find our what is is. - Thank you. Scott Leverenz 

I have had the same problem, I think possibly have lost one client because of it, and version 5 doesn't seem much if any better from earlier versions. I also wrote the developers and never received an answer. Anyway, in the puzzlement stage I did a lot of speculating and comparing what lines did and did not transfer in place and I drew some conclusions that may help you. I wrote my client that I had some insight and hoped he would still let me work around this but he probably decided in a crunch not to take the risk. Still, I have tested it out and you might want to do the same.

If you use the straight line tool, it will be way out of scale and in my case, far out to the upper right of the actual main image. You might not even see it if you don't zoom out in an auto cad viewer of some kind. Also the fonts are messed up but this loss of line scale and position was the big thing.